Image

Baked Chicken fajitas

20121008-124303.jpg

One of my favorite new things is to find recipes on Pinterest.  I have been wanting to experiment with using herbs.  I love Mexican food.  This recipe called for 4 different herbs.  When I stumbled upon it it appeared to be the perfect fit for my first herb cooking experiment!  I don’t mean to toot my own horn…but…I have never seen my boyfriend look so pleased with my cooking! And I consider myself a really good cook.  I think it was a success! It was really easy to make.

I modified the ingredients a bit from the original recipe to make it fit my eating habits.  I used fresh peppers and tomatoes (original recipe called for canned chilies and tomatoes) from my garden [so sad it is fall and I won’t have 24/7 access to the fresh produce of a summer garden ;( ] an organic onion, 2 organic chicken breasts, coconut oil (instead of vegetable oil) and organic herbs. The only thing that I couldn’t have 100% fresh and organic was the tortillas so I did the best I could with making sure the ingredients on the packaging did not include any enriched or bleached flour or corn.  I was able to find some yellow corn tortillas. That seemed to be the healthiest I would be able to find.  All products not picked from my garden were purchased at Sprouts Farmers Market.  I have found this store to carry high quality local organic produce that doesn’t break the bank.

Baked Chicken Fajitas Recipe:
Makes 8 Fajitas

1 pound boneless, skinless, organic chicken breasts, cut into strips
1 large beefsteak tomato
2 orange chilies
1 medium organic onion, sliced
1 large green bell pepper, seeded and sliced
1 large red bell pepper, seeded and sliced
2 T organic coconut oil
2 t. organic chili powder
2 t. organic cumin
1/2 t. organic garlic powder
1/2 t. organic dried oregano
1/4 t. real salt
8 yellow corn tortillas, warmed to serve

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Combine oil and spices in a bowl. Add chicken to mixture. In a 13×9 baking dish mix together chicken, tomatoes, chilies, peppers, and onions.

Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender.

Warm tortillas in a dry skillet and enjoy!

Writers note: I mixed all the ingredients in the dish about midday and covered it in the frig then pulled it out when I was ready to cook at night.

Leave a Reply

