Image

I love green smoothies

20120830-150819.jpg

Green smoothies have become a constant staple in my daily diet.  This is by far the best lifestyle add-in I have made to date!  They are jam packed with vitamins and nutrients and work well with my on-the-go busy life style.  I usually spend about a hour or two every week preparing a week long supply of green smoothies that make up all my breakfasts, snacks, and most my lunches.  Although it is best to have a turbo blender, like the blend tec shown here, any blender will do (for now, at least, until you burn through it’s engine.)  I have been lucky enough to have friends who own turbo blenders so it has worked out for me to make little visits to their houses and borrow theirs.  I dream of owning my own someday but for the time being this is what works best for me.

When talking about nutrition with others the subject of green smoothies always comes up.  The number one question I always get asked is what recipes do I use.  I’m sure there could be a lot of money made in making a book of recipes (I even own one) but the truth is, you really don’t need a recipe.  It’s just a matter of finding out what tastes good to you, what is at a good price, and what makes you feel good.  So, I guess you could say that is my recipe.  One thing that I always, always, always use is a dark leafy green.  Spinach, Kale, Chard, or the greens that are on top of root veggies like carrots or beets are some examples.  The picture that is shown above is of items purchased at my last costco visit.  Costco actually has a really good (not excellent) variety of organic fruits and veggies for a great price.  That huge bag of organic baby kale was a steal at $4.  In the middle is a bag of frozen organic berries at a little bit steeper price of $9.  I always throw carrots into the mix or apples (not in this batch) to sweeten the blend up and balance out the bitterness of the greens.  The berries are added in because I know that they work well with my body’s chemistry.  On the left there is a bag of sprouted ground flax (not bought at costco but just on hand in my supplement cabinet at home.)  I love flax because it is rich in omega-3 essential fatty acids, which, studies have shown help worriers like me with anxiety.  I always add flax to my smoothies because it is an easy way to get that nutrient into my body.  A little side note about flax, your body absorbs the nutrients from a whole flax seed very poorly which is why it is best to have it ground, or even better, ground after it has sprouted.  I will make a more in depth post about this at a later date.

This batch of smoothies was made primarily of things bought at costco.  It made about 2 gallons.  I put half in easy to grab water bottles and froze the other half (they usually only last 3-4 days) for later on in the week.  Where I do my shopping for the week is what determines what I put into my smoothies.  I will do a post on smoothies made primarily of local grocery store produce as well at a later date.

2 responses to “I love green smoothies

  1. Although they aren’t yet a staple in my diet yet, I do notice the difference when I start the day with one. I never really thought of freezing them…thanks for the tip. I don’t have a Blend Tec, but my Ninja seems to power through the heavy load I put on it.

    My secret ingredient….PARSELY, guess it’s not really a secret anymore!

  2. Aussiebum, it is awesome that you can notice a difference after starting your day with one. Parsley has a lot of great health benefits. It is an anti-cancer, anti-inflammatory, antioxidant rich, cardiovascular disease and stroke fighting, healthy immune system promoting, vitamin-k packed (just to name a few) herb. I don’t use it enough!

Leave a Reply

