Link

Just signed up for my FIRST marathon!!!

I grew up very active playing various sports, soccer being the primary one, playing since I was 4, but long distance running had always been extremely difficult for me to get into.  I remember trying to train in the off season by running around my neighborhood.  I can remember starting out by running around 4 blocks of streets, roughly a quarter of a mile, and having my body completely shut down.  I couldn’t catch my breath, my vision started to blur. Going through this made me have very negative thoughts about recreational running.  If I wasn’t chasing something, like a ball, or being chased, then there was no way you would ever find me running.

About 5 or 6 years ago, at around the age of 24, I went through a period of time when there was absolutely no active exercise in my daily schedule whatsoever.  I noticed big differences in my body image and my emotional stability.  Somewhere around this time I was grumbling to a close friend about how unhealthy and unhappy I was.  She was/is an avid runner and said if I signed up for a 1/2 marathon the training and completion of it would change my life forever.  That it did!! I am forever hooked on running and ever since then I have not gone a week (notice I say week and not day) without running.  It has been a goal of mine to complete a full marathon ever since.  I have participated in other 1/2 marathons and relay races but have yet to complete a FULL marathon.  About 3 years ago I signed up for the LA marathon while living in Venice Beach and even lured in about 10 friends to run it with me but didn’t get to the starting line.  I allowed personal problems to get in the way of my training and was not fully prepared come race day.  I got a big slice of humble pie watching all my friends start and cross the finish line. I promised myself I would complete a marathon within the next 5 years.

And here it is!!  The Las Vegas Rock and Roll Marathon.  December 2, 2012.  I can’t wait!!!!  Training starts in a little less than a month.  I will take you on my journey and update you on the training process.  I will be using this site to train.  Here’s a video compliments of the marathon’s site to Pump. You. Up!

Leave a Reply

