About Eat Live Run Nutrition

Growing up with a diabetic dad and having a sister diagnosed with Celiac in her early 20s, I have always been intrigued by how one person’s food can be another person’s poison.

I can remember as a child getting ready to go see the new superman movie at the drive-in when my dad’s sugar levels dropped so low he had to rush to the hospital. This was the first time I was exposed to the horrors of my dad not eating a proper diet to keep him healthy.

In my sister’s 3rd year at college she began having stomach pains so horrible she, as well, had to rush to the hospital.  The doctors thought she had an ulcer and told her to eat as much bread as she could to soak it up.  Test came back with information that the remedies they were giving her were, in fact, the exact opposite of what she needed, which was to stay away from gluten.

How can one person eat a snickers candy bar and have absolutely no side effects when another can be sent into a diabetic shock?  How can one person eat wheat based food all day long everyday and never get sick when another person would be a slave to the porcelain bowl all night long after having one slice of bread?  Why?  Because we are all biochemically different and therefor one person’s food can be another person’s poison.

Because I was exposed to this at such a young age, and basically throughout my whole life, I feel that a path was laid for me to study nutrition and hopefully help others that are just like my dad and sister who have nutrition based illnesses to be healthy and not held captive to rely on medicine or a strict diet to be healthy.  Thus, EatLiveRunNutrition was born.

Staying fit and eating healthy have always been passions of mine.  This blog was created to help bring my knowledge and passions to others and to help EVERYONE find what lifestyle, not diet, they need to be healthy and happy.   Diets don’t last, but lifestyle changes do.  I hope that through sharing my life experiences and journey to figure out what makes me healthy and happy I can reach out to others and help them find what they are looking for.

Leave a Reply

